Deconstructing Sequence – Cosmic Progression: An Agonizing Journey Through Oddities of Space (ER)

Deconstructing Sequence Cosmic Progression cover Advertent reader of my reviews could find out that physics (mainly astrophysics) has special place in my heart. Alike the metal music. So, if we put these two thing together, I should have second Christmas. And right this is the case of debut lp album Cosmic Progression: An Agonizing Journey Through Oddities of Space from band Deconstructing Sequence. Get ready, space odyssey will start in 3….2…1….

Welcome in space, without laws of common metal music! Brand of genre of Deconstructing Sequence – extreme progressive art is more than true. Immediately first song Lifeforce Awakens is pure evidence of this quote. Progressive black metal in combination of space sounds, atmosphere….

In practise that means many hard and heavy parts- during which you could enjoy uncompromising guitar riffs, fast drums, and all is supported by synthetizators. And right this instrument has biggest impact on final sound of the whole record. Also thanks to it, group create fantastic space atmosphere.

Best example of my words is song with number 2 called V4641 Sgr, which can be divide into two parts. First is yet mentioned combination of progressive and black metal on a high instrumental level. But personally, I was the most impressed by second part respectively end of this chant.

These few second filled with breath taking, fantastic atmosphere, and feelings, that I have lost somewhere near the black hole were simply genial. Small dramatic apostile is after this just small bonus. However, there are more dramatic parts which enrich still very rich instrumental side of record.

Because all 9 songs flow according to mentioned formula- mixture of hard, raw and intelligent black metal and many synths passages. Great formula, great band, so result have to be also great. Cosmic Progression is one of that albums, where I can not find any negative.

I enjoy it from it beginning, has many innovations, high instrumental level, genial atmosphere. This is way how to create progressive black metal album.


  • Morph – vocals, synth and programming
  • Tiberius – guitars, bass guitar, vocals
  • J Nerexo (Shadows Land) – drum arrangements and performance
  • Maciej Lis – bass guitar


  1. Lifeforce Awakens
  2. V4641 Sgr
  3. Memories of the Sun, Memories of the Earth
  4. My Way Through the Stars
  5. Dark Matter
  6. Luminous (In the Process of Merging)
  7. Heading to the Virgo Constellation
  8. Supernova( The Battle for Matter Begins)
  9. Run Starchild…You Are Free Now!

Year of Release: 2018

Label: Via Nocturna

Youtube teaser:


Score: 6/6

Pridaj komentár

Vaša e-mailová adresa nebude zverejnená. Vyžadované polia sú označené *